In-Character

Hi all, I’m OneThirdLess, aka Kristian, aka Vameris, aka Nyns. I’m an IRL and virtual friend of Veiss’s. I’m a fitness nut (in the past, I lost a third of my body weight, hence the name). I’m also a gamer. A noob gamer. I mean, I’m pretty bad. But I got better. (Somewhat.)

See, the Graves? That’s me.

The one thing I do know, though, is that I love identifying with whatever character I’m playing. (In case you’re wondering, no I don’t play WoW on an RP server. I’m bad at that, too.) I started playing World Of Warcraft as a Blood Elf Warlock back in the tail end of the Burning Crusade. That was when ‘locks were OP in PvP and there was a popular build called the SL/SL build going around for them. (Soul Leach and Soul Link, I believe, were the two talents that we required in the Afflic and Demonology trees).

slsllockIf this doesn’t make any sense to you, then you started playing way more recently.

I was worse than terribad, and that’s because I just couldn’t get into character. No, seriously. I just couldn’t connect to the whole, I-summon-demons-by-malevolently-wiggling-my-fingers vibe.

Do you blame me, though?

Seriously though, I just could not connect to a character that was, lore-wise, hated by all other races for being a drug-addled caster that used the same magic to harness the enemy‘s minions against them. Like, I just couldn’t relate, you know? Then I discovered priests. I loved playing a priest. Not because I’m religious, but because I loved the idea of trying to use the power of the most fundamental force in the WoWverse to both Smite my foes and Heal my allies. I could relate to this because my dream in life was to become a doctor.

doctorphotoThen you just dodge the fire, de-curse the debuff, and queue your heals on the off-tank up because he’s about to take spike damage.

All of a sudden, I was a better player. It didn’t matter that I was healing instead of DPSing; even as shadow in healer gear I was doing better than I was as a Warlock, and it was just more fun! This is not a unique experience, though. According to a study from 2011 published in the Journal of Management, “collective organizational commitment and interpersonal OCB [organizational citizenship behavior] are meaningful intervening processes that connect corporate ethics to firm financial performance.” This basically says that when there are a set of governing rules you can identify with (“corporate ethics”, or in my case, “the Light”), your commitment and behaviors lead to improved group performance. The study has a lot more stuff, and obviously is talking in reference to the workplace, but what is a raid if not a second office?

thrall_with_iphoneHi, Sylvannas? I’m going to have to push that meeting back. Leeroy just pulled the whole room.

So I need to RP to pew-pew mad DPS?

No, and please, never speak like that again. (The way I imagine you all speaking is weird sometimes.) All it means is that you need to connect to your character and your role in order to improve performance, and this can come in the form of just truly believing in your character’s actual agenda and goals.

teemo_is_demonicWhat drives a Teemo player besides demonic fury, though?

This applies to all games, but it’s more obvious in games with a linear progression storyline. You don’t need to get into character as Leon Kennedy when you’re fighting an evil organization. You do, however, need to take on an all-in attitude when playing as Kled, though, otherwise you just play too defensively and he doesn’t really do that well.

I’m not raiding at the higher echelons of WoW, and I’m only Bronze in LoL. That being said, I’m not going to theorycraft on how to improve individualized gameplay based on some deeply attuned knowledge. I can, however, use my personal insight into understanding Lore and character summaries in order to get a feel for how a character is supposed to play. This also leads to some game-breaking metas that I can discuss in terms of LoL’s URF mode.

urf2017

League’s latest version of URF is the All Random Ultra Rapid Fire, or AR-URF (that’s probably the sound Urf would make if Warwick didn’t kill him).

In U.R.F., everyone gets a bunch of buffs, including, but not limited to, no mana costs, 80% CDR, and everyone can traverse the Abyss. (Not to be confused with The Void.) (No, the Abyss is not actually implemented, this is just a Dark Souls reference.) Anyway, the cool thing about URF, in my opinion, is that you really get to see some characters shine, and others completely change their playstyle.

Let’s take Urgot, for example. Urgot was a soldier who fought in many of Noxus’ battles, and after having his hands crippled beyond usage and being barely unable to walk, he was given the position of High Executioner of Noxus. (At first, I thought this was why he’s the “Headsman’s Pride”, since he literally cut off heads.) He was leading an expedition, captured Jarvan IV, and was murdered by Garen who aimed to save Jarvan IV. Yet the top professor of Noxus decided to rebuild Urgot’s body and then reanimate it, which is only slightly different from the normal procedure for a recognized military expert.

Urgot is supposed to be a walking tank that shoots you in the face and keeps it moving. He launches friggin’ blades from a gun (Jinx would be proud). He’s not that good at this, though, considering his kit, well, sucks. He’s an ADC because he’s ranged and his Q and E are all about that life. Well, no, on second thought, he’s a tank because of his W and R. If you build him as an ADC, he’s an immobile, lackluster damage dealer with a useless ult. If you build him as a tank, he deals almost no damage but has decent engage potential. If you build him as a bruiser, he’s just generally lackluster all around. That is, until URF. In URF, anyone can be anything. If he gets an E off on you in URF, you’re going to die, or you’re going to kill him. The range on his homing Q and the speed at which he can spam it means that he’s exactly how he’s supposed to be. He’s an unkillable, artillery-launching death machine. He may still be immobile, but he has great engage and DPS. You really feel like a walking monster of the inner circle of Hell playing him, so it helps flesh out playing him.

butcherurgot

Yes, that is URF meat in the background. You monster. And I was just praising you!

On the flipside, is Soraka. ‘Raka is supposed to be a celestial being that was tricked by Warwick into giving up her immortality. She’s a healer and her lore was retconned when WW was recently reworked into something lame and unimaginative. In URF, though, she’s a cold-blooded killer hell-bent on destruction. She spams spells, no longer caring that she isn’t supposed to use them on humans outside of her Celestial Grove (no that’s not a euphemism). She keeps her party healed, yes, but she also wrecks face, yo. In URF mode, you can forgo her pacifist nature and her hesitance towards violence. In URF, you can seek the vengeance that is rightfully hers while seeking the destruction of her foe, Warwick. 

sorakabanana

 Chilling.

In the comments below, let us know how you connect to your character! I’m curious to see if others have noticed this subtlety and how.

If you liked my writing, head over to my blog, OneThirdLess, for some fitness and nutrition style posts. Thanks for your time!

Leave a Reply

